I’m ready, but I’m also pretty nervous right now… (reblog)

unnamedToday will be the first time I’ve ever gone on strike. It will be the first time a lot of us go on strike – the fight for $15 is growing! – and we all need to know that you have our backs. Especially since so many of us will be practicing civil disobedience and risking arrest to be sure our voices are heard.

As we walk off our jobs for the first time, sign our petition to McDonald’s and the rest of the fast food giants. They need to know that you support us strikers.

They need to know that they won’t get away with ignoring or intimidating us. They need to know it’s long past time to pay us enough to live on.

I work at McDonald’s here in Durham, North Carolina, and I’m going on strike for the first time because my family, and my community, needs me to. It’s just not right that we struggle to afford the basics like rent and groceries, when McDonald’s is making billions in profits.

Today’s the day, and I’m ready to do whatever it takes. I’m excited, but I’m also a bit scared as I think about walking off of my job and risking arrest through civil disobedience. You know what’s scarier, though? Not being able to put food on the table and not knowing how I’m going to come up with rent for me and my 10 year-old daughter on the $7.25 an hour I make.

I have no other choice than to fight for what’s right, and I know that my co-workers, my community, and people like you are with us – that you’re counting on me to stand up for what’s right, just like I’m counting on you.

As I get ready to go on strike, I want to know that McDonald’s is already hearing from us. Hearing from you.

Sign our petition and tell them you support us striking workers, and that it’s time to pay us $15 an hour.

Thanks for the support. We’ll be in touch with more as the day unfolds.

Krystal Patterson
McDonald’s, Durham, NC
Low Pay is Not OK

https://www.causes.com/lowpayisnotok-mcdonalds

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 10.28.27 AM

Leave a Reply

