Ticket To Ride, Book 2, Chapter 10: Mediterranean’s not too far away, Mmm…

The Roofs of Alicante, by 1930, William Russell Flint (1880-1969)
The Roofs of Alicante, by 1930, William Russell Flint (1880-1969)

Ten

 

“Rame it’s me. I’m in Alicante. Did you get the Morocco story?”

“Is that 1631 words including the three lines from Crosby, Stills, and Nash?”

“Use the quote from Orwell. Rame, have you ever had green tea?”

“What do you want us to do with this Livy?”

“It’s your two thousand words.”

“Not quite and the boss thinks it’s crap. Where’s Marrakesh in here?”

“Have you ever had green tea Rame?”

“There’s no history of the place.”

“It’s what I write, the way I write. Someone’ll publish it. Didn’t want to stay in Morocco, got the creeps.”

“What about all this extra stuff at the beginning?”

“It’s the way it was. It’s the way they were, the people there, on my way. Read it again. Is my money on its way?”

“It’s on its way but I don’t know if they’ll be any more after this.”

“You’ll like the next one. Have you ever had green tea?”

“No, why?”

“It’s good tea, they drink it in Morocco. America’s all about Lipton isn’t it?”

“I don’t really drink tea.”

“Could be a whole new thing.”

“The next story?”

“No, the tea.”

“Whatever Livy. I’ll read it again.”

“It’s just different Rame.”

“The tea?”

“No, the story.”

“I’ll read it again. Maybe you’re right. Where’d you say you were?”

“Alicante. I’m staying in a Spanish prison tonight.”

“What happened?”

“Nothing silly, it’s a youth hostel.”

“Where’re you going next.”

“Not sure really. I was thinking about going to London.”

“Your mom.”

“It’s been a while.”

“You don’t sound too excited.”

“I’m not sure where next. Just read the story again and I’ll write another.”

“Call again in a week.”

“Rame, I met someone.”

“Is he cute?”

“Magical.”

“What else?”

“I’ve got to go now Rame. Talk to you soon.”

“What’s his name?”

“Don’t know. But I’ll see him again.”

“How’s that?”

“Gotta go Rame. Ta for now.”

“A week Livy… and Livy, (click) please try harder.”

Livy had hung up already and was walking toward the hostel. Nothing special here. Nice night though. Stars. Mediterranean’s not too far away. Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

