Eyes – A Struggle With Christianity and God

Sohei (Monk Warriors) EP by The Julian Day
Sohei (Monk Warriors) EP by The Julian Day

Eyes: Words and Music by Phil Wikel and The Julian Day

 

I want to spend a day in your eyes,

seek shelter from my lies

safe refuge from the wise,

I want to spend a day

in your eyes.

 

Out on the landscape of my life

there resides a burdening darkness

such a lonely

such a lonely

empty

empty stripped-down starkness

 

(CHORUS)

In your eyes I can dream

dream that I might harness

through dreams and schemes and unplanned themes

harness a corner on love.

Is it enough

as I am told

to simply accept your name

is it not

just another

missionary game.

 

Is it enough

is it not

can it be

given as freely

am I here or there

am I still at arms length,

how long can I look and not find?

 

(CHORUS)

In your eyes

I can reach

reach an uncertain kindness

through wrongs and rights

nocturnal flights

harness a corner on love.

 

Out on the landscape of my life

there resides so much darkness

such a lonely

such a lonely

empty

empty stripped-down starkness

 

Just to spend a day in your eyes

seek shelter from my lies

safe refuge from the wise,

I can’t see you any more,

and I feel

I’ve gone blind.

 

On iTunes:

http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=847743914

The Julian Day

Rock Stars?

http://www.reverbnation.com/thejulianday

Leave a Reply

