We Belong

!B0UvyygCGk~$(KGrHqYOKkQE)NfGgEG2BMZ6N+mO!g~~_35I once worked in the promotional department at the Ventura Theatre back in the 90s and was honored with free admission to see some of the greatest musicians of the previous twenty years or so. I clearly remember seeing Pat Benatar and recall being so incensed with the purity of her voice that I ran to a pay phone in the lobby, called a friend, and held the phone up toward the theater doors. Her perfect pitch literally cut through to my soul and I could feel myself being electrified by the immense amount of pure energy radiating throughout the building. I imagined that even the people outside must be feeling some sense of her power and I believed people on the streets were walking with a lighter stride and smiling for no reason at all.

I’m working on a new song now and am trying to incorporate a few bars of one of her songs, namely, “We Belong.” Wish me luck and, I apologize in advance to Ms. Benatar. I might just turn it into a tragic mess. But if she likes it, maybe she’ll have a cup of coffee with me some time. I can only hope…

Pat Benatar, We Belong

Many times I’ve tried to tell you, many times I’ve cried alone
Always I’m surprised how well you cut my feelings to the bone
Don’t wanna leave you really, I’ve invested too much time
To give you up that easy, to the doubts that complicate your mind

We belong to the light, we belong to the thunder
We belong to the sound of the words we’ve both fallen under
Whatever we deny or embrace for worse or for better
We belong, we belong, we belong together

Maybe it’s a sign of weakness, when I don’t know what to say
Maybe I just wouldn’t know what to do with my strength anyway
Have we become a habit, do we distort the facts
Now there’s no looking forward, now there’s no turning back, when you say

We belong to the light, we belong to the thunder
We belong to the sound of the words we’ve both fallen under
Whatever we deny or embrace for worse or for better
We belong, we belong, we belong together

Close your eyes and try to sleep now, close your eyes and try to dream
Clear your mind and do your best to try and wash the palette clean
We can’t begin to know it, how much we really care
I hear your voice inside me, I see your face everywhere, still you say

We belong to the light, we belong to the thunder
We belong to the sound of the words we’ve both fallen under
Whatever we deny or embrace for worse or for better
We belong, we belong, we belong together

Leave a Reply

