World Leader Pretend

I recently felt forced to defend Ticket to Ride and it came out sounding snobbish and arrogant. If anyone felt put off, you have my apology. Having a popular blog can lead to all sorts of weirdness, like thinking you’re more than just another guy with a laptop. It’s not the first time I’ve taken myself a little too seriously. Perhaps Michael Stipe from REM said it best in the song World Leader Pretend:

This is my world
And I am world leader pretend
This is my life
And this is my time

I have been given the freedom
To do as I see fit
It’s high time I razed the walls
That I’ve constructed

And then there’s this from the U2 song Stand Up Comedy:

Josephine, be careful of small men with big ideas

_______________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

