Guest Blog: Do Folks Not Read Anymore?

Do Folks Not Read Anymore?

by Angelique

Click here to go to Angelique’s site : Angelique, The Novelist’s Blog

This isn’t about book sales or publicity; it’s a legitimate concern—one I’ve had for quite some time. What happened to the days when you looked forward to the book fair coming to your school? What happened to the days when a library card was protected like a credit card? What about the days when you couldn’t wait to get the next book in The Babysitters Club and Nancy Drew series (I feel a little nostalgia coming on )? Now, it’s all about the latest Rated R movie when Halle is going to show her boobs or the next Grand Theft Auto video game. I don’t know about other parents, but reading is a regular curriculum in my household. Even if it’s just a trip to the grocery story, I get my stepson into the habit of reading ice cream labels, cereal boxes, and candy wrappers (all things that he loves) to keep his mind stimulated.

Let me be blunt; our world seems to want to take the stupid and lazy route these days. Sooner than later, childhood obesity is going to be the LEAST of our problems. I hope that First Lady Michelle Obama is ramping up her plan b/c she’s going to have her work cut out for her. Folks just don’t want to read anymore; they would rather take the easy (read: lazy) way out and watch the movie instead, neglecting their minds and putting their brain cells in idle mode. You know what they say—if you don’t use it, then you’ll lose it.

This is my challenge to us parents: starting w/ once a week, let your child pick a book to read (he/she is most likely to be interested in a book that they choose as opposed to mom or dad). Read it w/ him/her. Be creative; be animated. Kids have short attention spans and lose interest fairly quickly; so, find ways to keep them motivated.

Remember: children ARE our future. From what I see every day in our children, our future isn’t looking very bright. Let us teach them the fundamentals to ensure that our world can advance intellectually.

5 thoughts on “Guest Blog: Do Folks Not Read Anymore?

  1. I don’t see this in the homeschool community, I see kids devouring books faster than they can be written. I think the problem lies in the fact that parents for the most part have abdicated responsibility for the education of their children to “professionals”, and not only do they not get exposed to the classics, but are given a lot of brain candy to read. They also have little time for leisure reading after heaps of homework, since most of the real work of school is sent home with them, teachers competing to give more than the others.

    In my home, reading for 1 hour daily is required, and it fast becomes as routine as tooth brushing. Most of my friend’s kids do this as well. Often I can’t get them to stop. They read the classics from the get go, I do not let them choose any old book to read. I have a library of almost 1000 books they can choose from, all subjects, but all prescreened by me. Just as I would not let them choose which movies they watched, or which foods they eat, nor do I with books. Garbage in, garbage out, as they say.

    So fear not, dear writer! You’re just not looking in the right places 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad to hear your kids and their home-schooled counterparts are avid readers. I didn’t actually post this particular blog because I’m having a hard time finding readers. It’s that illiteracy in America has reached epidemic proportions (see https://philipscottwikel.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/illiteracy-an-incurable-disease-or-education-malpractice/) and something needs to be done. I’d love to hear your feedback on that particular blog post.
      50 million Americans are only semi-literate. It’s crazy.

      Good to hear from you.
      Phil

      Like

      1. I certainly didn’t insinuate the motivation for your post, I understand full well it’s a plea for acknowledgement of this epidemic, and a guest post at that.
        And I did read the other post. I read them all, dear cousin 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

