Which books quench your soul? Guest Blog

Which books quench your soul? by Christina Linnell

Her url is: http://www.aclosetwriter.com/2010/05/what-books-quench-your-soul.html

The great scholar, Charles W. Eliot once said “Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”

I love this quote because in so many ways it is true. I think of all the books I have fallen in love with, that have transported me to another time, another place. For the sake of not sounding too sappy books quench my soul. They really do.

My answer to Christina’s question:

It may sound funny but Catcher in the Rye feeds me like no other book I’ve read. I’ve read it 5 times and it never disappoints. The 1st time was in 10th grade, the age when it’s meant to be the most relevant, but I find it to be even more relevant now than it was for me 25 years ago.

Maybe it’s that I’m in a mild, yet perpetual state of rebellion against everything I see around me or maybe it’s that I find Holden Caulfield to be one of the most “real” fictional characters I’ve ever come across. I know I should have outgrown Holden by now but, maybe it’s because I haven’t grown out of him that keeps me tuned in and open.

Another favorite of mine is Kerouac’s On The Road.

8 thoughts on “Which books quench your soul? Guest Blog

      1. Susan

        Just saw this…….

        Hard to put into words. But renews my faith in “knowing” that there is more to this life than this. The book spoke to me on a level that I knew was there but it gets pushed aside by every day life.

        The book speaks of true forgiveness and about love. Very moving…..

        Like

      1. Ginger Aurella

        I think it’s the reminder that we impact others’ lives (and they ours) in countless ways that we can’t even begin to understand. Words and actions can, and often do, change lives. Whether those changes are good or bad is up to us. In this book, one man gets the chance (after his death) to see how he impacted various people throughout his life. Those people then go on to impact others and so on…ripples.

        Like

  1. Jens Sorensen

    Absolutely RAIN OF GOLD by Victor Villasenor and it’s prequel WILD STEPS OF HEAVEN do it for me. I love stories that go epic following families through multiple generations, surviving hardships and then passing a rich sense of proud history and its appreciation on to the next generation.

    http://www.victorvillasenor.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

