When the Amazing Happens, Signing Books for Readers

Today (April 13, 2010) I was given the opportunity to sign my first copy of Ticket to Ride!

It was a fairly ordinary day. The weather in my little part of Southern California was greyish and windy, but fresh from a recent storm. The clouds of which were threatening to shower us again. It was from within this gloom that I received an unexpected visitor.

She had said that she had ordered a copy of my book last week and today, Rebecca, came up waving her copy of the book asking me to sign it.

“I’d been looking for an opportunity to have you sign my copy,” she said.

She seemed to be glowing, or maybe it was me. I’ll take the fifth on that one.

What a great feeling that someone appreciated my work so much that she sought me out for a signature. It’s amazing. You spend a few years of your life pouring your heart and soul into something you love and then finally you make a connection with a kindred spirit, someone who understands why you made the effort, and appreciates your having done so. It absolutely made my day.

Thanks Rebecca, you don’t know how much that meant to me.

Anyone have a similar story? A time when someone made your day. I’d love to hear about it.

One thought on “When the Amazing Happens, Signing Books for Readers

  1. Those are the moments, Phil, when you realize that making the bestseller list or receiving the Pulitzer don’t really matter (not that those things wouldn’t be nice) as much as making that connection with a reader does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

